Shirley dropped by ESPN for Haiti blog

Former Iowa State basketball player, NBA vagabond and blogger extroardinaire Paul Shirley has lost his writing gig at ESPN. com.

Shirley shared with the world Tuesday on www.flipcollective.com his perspective on the devastating earthquake in Haiti and the relief and fundraising efforts since. Those views have apparently not endeared him to much of the general public, most notably ESPN, who has published his blog entries for the last several years.

Here is the opening few grafs of his piece:

I do not know if what I’m about to write makes me a monster. I do know that it makes me a part of a miniscule minority, if Internet trends and news stories of the past weeks are any guide.

“It”, is this:

I haven’t donated a cent to the Haitian relief effort. And I probably will not.

I haven’t donated to the Haitian relief effort for the same reason that I don’t give money to homeless men on the street. Based on past experiences, I don’t think the guy with the sign that reads “Need You’re Help” is going to do anything constructive with the dollar I might give him. If I use history as my guide, I don’t think the people of Haiti will do much with my money either.

At last check there were 520 comments from people expressing outrage, appreciation, understanding — or some combination of those feelings and emotions.

ESPN was not amused, and promptly fired the free-thinking baller.

The company’s full statement reads like this:

“He was a part-time freelance contributor. The views he expressed on another site of course do not at all reflect our company’s views on the Haiti relief efforts. He will no longer contribute to ESPN.”

Here’s Shirley’s letter: http://www.flipcollective.com/2010/01/26/if-you-rebuild-it-they-will-come-by-paul-shirley/

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

