Brackins: No regrets staying at ISU

Iowa State fans will see a new and improved Craig Brackins this season, according to him.

The first-team all-Big 12 forward spent part of his summer playing with some of the top college basketball players around and against some of the world’s top amateurs as a member of the U.S. team that played in the World University Games.

His head coach was Wisconsin’s Bo Ryan.

“I learned a lot,” Brackins said. “He’s very passionate about the game. He’s kinda like Coach Mac (Greg McDermott) but more intense. He likes it perfect. If you make one mistake he’ll take you out. He doesn’t care what it was. He demanded a lot from you, which was good.”

Brackins gave up NBA riches to stay in college instead of declare for the draft.

After seeing where some of the draftees were picked, some believed he made a mistake and should have gone pro. Brackins is content with his decision.

“You have certain people who were like, ‘What were you thinking?’” he said. “It varies. (I have) no second thoughts. I made a decision and I’m sticking with it.”

Brackins averaged 20.2 points and 9.5 rebounds as a sophomore last season.

Those numbers can be even higher still, he said.

“I think my game is a lot better,” Brackins said. “I think it can get even better with the time that we have until the season starts. I’m trying to work on everything, get everything right. I’m getting stronger and getting bigger and doing as much as I can.”

Leave a Reply

